Feb 102011
 

Another night, another questionable hit.

In the Canucks’ 4-3 loss to the Anaheim Ducks last night, Ryan Getzlaf hit Dan Hamhuis from behind along the boards; Hamhuis didn’t return.

Here’s Getzlaf on the hit:

“Well, he turned as he made his pass, I think, and he was well-aware I was coming from what I could tell,” Getzlaf explained. “I watched the video and that’s what I saw. I didn’t leave my feet. I kept my shoulder down. It was just following through on a pass, and it was an unfortunate accident.

“I wish nothing but the best for him. I don’t want to hurt anybody out there.”

Getzlaf, who was just back from a facial injury that kept him out 14 games, believes players must respect their opponents and be accountable.

“We’ve got to get together as a group and get more conscious of it,” he said. “And it’s not only on the guy who’s hitting; it’s the responsibility of the guy who’s getting hit as well. You’ve got to have your head up and know that there are guys on the ice who are coming to hit you.

“When you have a guy in that vulnerable position … I’m not going to try to injure anybody.”

And that last part is why we’re seething this morning. While I agree that Hamhuis should have had his head up, then, knowing Hamhuis was in a vulnerable position, why didn’t Getzlaf let up on the hit?

Now, I don’t doubt that Getzlaf didn’t intend to injure Hammer. Watching the replay, I don’t think it was a malicious hit. That said, it wasn’t a clean play either.

Does Getzlaf deserve a suspension? Going by the NHL’s standards, I doubt he gets one.

A penalty would’ve nice though.

What do you think?

  • Interiorfan

    He left his feet.

  • http://www.canuckshockeyblog.com J.J. Guerrero

    See, I thought that too at first. But the more I look at the replay, the more I don’t think he did. He definitely leaned into the hit – which, considering Hamhuis’ vulnerable position, is what makes it a penalty – but I don’t think his feet left the ice until after contact was made.

  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWdqXolKNxM Jan Bulis

    Turn the tables. If it was Kesler doing that to Fowler, would you be calling for a penalty or simply believing he finished his check? Tough call, this one is right on the line but I think within the rules.

  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWdqXolKNxM Jan Bulis

    Turn the tables. If it was Kesler doing that to Fowler, would you be calling for a penalty or simply believing he finished his check? Tough call, this one is right on the line but I think within the rules.

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=520326674 J.J. Guerrero

    See, I thought that too at first. But the more I look at the replay, the more I don’t think he did. He definitely leaned into the hit – which, considering Hamhuis’ vulnerable position, is what makes it a penalty – but I don’t think his feet left the ice until after contact was made

  • scotty

    Anytime you drive an opponents face into the glass it is NOT a clean hit! Hamhuis was in a bad position and Getzlaf failed to let up on the hit. You can blame Hamhuis for being in that position, but like head shots, the responsibility should be with the one delivering the check. Maybe that puck to the head of Getzlaf clouded his judgement, but it in the very least deserved a boarding call.

%d bloggers like this: