May 312011

Here at Canucks Hockey Blog, we have just learned that Henrik and Daniel Sedin will be awarded the 2011 Victoriastipendiet.

Equivalent to the Swedish Athlete of the Year award, the Victoriastipendiet (or as we have roughly translated, the Crown Princess Victoria Scholarship) will be awarded to the Sedins on Öland, July 14, 2011 as part of the celebration of HRH Crown Princess Victoria’s 34th birthday. More notably, this is only the 3rd time in the scholarship has been awarded to a hockey player – the first two being 1980 to Stefan Persson and 1994 to Peter Forsberg.

Congratulations to Hank and Dank – now bring home that other trophy we all want!

%d bloggers like this: